If I Only Had a Brain

I just love our little dog. I really do. I think she is so sweet, and the most darling four-legged creature on the planet. However, I will be the first to admit that she is just not very smart. Not really a whole lot going on upstairs, if you know what I mean.

For example, sometimes she runs to the glass door to look out, and she gets startled and gives a little “yip” when she sees her own reflection. Last week we took her to see the hubs’ grandparents, and she got lost in their house, and could not find her way back to the living room when she wandered down the hall. Also while there, I called for her when she was behind the couch I was sitting on. Poor thing tried, but she could not figure out how to go around the couch to get to me, so she gave a little cry and vaulted over the back of the couch to get to me. Impressive feat of dog agility, but if she had any sort of critical thinking skills, she probably would have just walked around to the front of the couch.

She also does not know how to back up. This summer I had her tied up to the dock. There’s just enough room between the dock and the ground that she could squeeze between. She jumped down, ran through the dock-ground tunnel, ran over the top of the dock, through the tunnel again, and did this again and again. Finally, she ran out of rope. Unfortunately, she was halfway through under the dock at the time. So, of course, she started to cry. I tried to get her to back up, but she refused. Finally I had to wiggle down and unclasp her leash so that she could get out. Then I had to untangle the rope from the dock. I got a whole line of splinters on my behind! And just last night she hid her dog bone, then could not remember where it was, so she cried for an hour. Finally the hubs found it for her, so all was well again. Oh, my.

Good thing she’s so cute!

I wonder if the hubs was thinking about the dog this week when he was talking in his sleep.

It is deer season, so the hubs has been going to bed early, tuckered out from being cold and alert out in the tree stand for so long. I was up still, reading, when all of the sudden the hubs flopped over to face me.

Hubs: That’s really weird.

Me: Oh? What is?

Hubs: Well, she wants to know…but she’s asking the dog, who has no idea about wine glasses!

Me (snorting with laughter): Yeah, that is pretty weird. Will she ask a different dog instead?

Hubs: Hmm…and I’m sensing that you have no idea what I am talking about.

Me: No, not really.

Hubs: I can tell.

Me: Anything I can do to help?

Hubs: No, it’s alright.

Me (climbing out of bed): I have to go to the bathroom, be right back. I love you!

Hubs: Yeah, I know.

I’m almost to the door now, headed for the bathroom.

Hubs (calling loudly): I love you, too!

I have no idea why anyone would ask a dog about wine glasses, I know our dog would be no help whatsoever on the topic. But I am glad that she is part of our family, a family that contains one very silly but very sweet sleep-talker!

Leave a Reply

