Home, Home on the Range

Home, home on the range! Where the deer and the antelope play!

We’ve seen lots and lots of deer and antelope on the range the past few days as we’ve been chugging across the great state of Wyoming.

This is neither a deer, nor an antelope. It’s an elk crossing the road in front of us. We’ve seen lots of those on the range, too.

This is also neither a deer, nor an antelope. It’s a dog who’s happily staying at the in-laws’ house. I’m afraid that after being gone so long on the bike trip she won’t even remember who I am. I’ve thought about asking them to hold her up so that I can Skype with her, but that’s probably a little excessive, so I’ve refrained.

I’ve always liked that song about the range, and as we travel across Wyoming I see what they’re talking about.

Home, home on the range! Where the deer and the antelope play. And seldom is heard a discouraging word, and the skies are not cloudy all day!

I always thought this song was saying that the word “seldom” was a discouraging word that, for some reason, was always heard on the open range. It was not until I was in college that I finally realized that it meant that discouraging words are rarely heard on the range. I was a little slow on the uptake there.

More things that I didn’t figure out until way after I should have:

  • You don’t have to use only old bread when making french toast. The hubs is convinced my mom told me this because she did not want to make french toast as much as I asked for it.
  • At weddings when they say, “Speak now, or forever hold your peace,” it doesn’t mean that you should be quiet lest you lose your piece of pie. I was in my twenties before I figured that one out.
  • The old hymn actually says, “Oh, come, King eternal,” not, “Oh, come, kinky turtle.”

One thing that I will probably never figure out is what the hubs was talking about in his sleep this past week. We had a rest day planned one day this week, which meant we got to sleep in for a change. Of course, no one told my internal clock, so I woke up at 4:30 am, ready for another day of driving while he biked. While I stared at the clock, not believing that it was still saying 4:35, the hubs started to talk in his sleep.

Hubs: I think it’s, it might at least, going to blow up.

Me: Hmm…you awake, too?

Hubs: The volcano…there it is.

Me: Ugghh… why can’t you be awake like me?

Hubs: Yeah… it might.

Then he didn’t say anything else, and I resumed my futile attempts to sleep for a few more hours.

The hubs has another week of biking along out west, so who knows if he will talk any more in his sleep. I am fairly confident, however, that I will rarely know what on earth he is talking about when he does.

Leave a Reply

