The Great Bike Race

The hubs is the best biker in the entire world. At least, I think so, and I am not at all biased.

Here is the hubs after riding up a mountain out west.

Sometimes the hubs is in bike races. Although he really likes this, I do not particularly like it when he races. I get all fluttery and nervous and every time there is the slightest little wobble or bumping of handle bars my heart drops down to my stomach. In bike racing, you never know what will happen: at the race last week there was lots of swerving and some close calls because of a turtle crossing the track!

After the race this past week, the hubs’ performance was obviously on his mind when he (finally) fell asleep. It was sometime shortly after 3 in the morning. The hubs all of the sudden propped himself up on one elbow and started talking to me loudly.

Hubs: 24? Are you sure it was only 24?

Me: Hmmm?? What??

Hubs: Are you sure I only beat 24 people? More like… probably more like 26… yeah, 26.

Me: Ugghhhh… what time is it?

Hubs: Definitely more than 22. At least 24. I beat at least that many.

Me: UHH, please go to bed.

Hubs: Yeah, I think 26.

Then he flopped back down and did not say anything else.

I am so proud of the hubs, and it doesn’t matter if he beats 22 or 24 or 26 or zero or all of the other racers. I still think he is the best bike racer ever!

Leave a Reply

