Sweet Dreams

I am a bit of a dork. I wish I was not this way. I would prefer to be suave and cool and pulled together. Unfortunately, I am not any of those things. If you think that I am, it is just an illusion. And when you get to know me better you will see the truth: I am a dingbat.

This was proven yet again this week when I took the dog for a walk. I was waiting at a cross walk to cross the street. A car decided to stop and waved me out in front of them. I thought this was very polite of them, but I was sort of flustered because I was not expecting it so I took off across the street right away. Unfortunately, the dog was not ready to walk, but was in mid-sniff of a nearby light pole. So I started walking, the dog got turned around and somehow 2 of her legs got tangled up in the leash!

By the time I looked down and saw that she was hobbling/jumping along with only a left front and a right back leg we were a third of the way across the road. I did not want to stop in the middle of the road to fix it because of my fear of getting hit by a car so I did the only thing I could think of: I walked faster. Oh, the poor dog! She could not hobble along that quickly, so she had to take little leaps as I dragged her along, forging ahead in front of stopped traffic. They probably thought I was such a cruel pet owner. Oh, dear.

As soon as we got to the other side of the road I bent over to fix the poor dog’s leash, and she celebrated her release by peeing on yet another light pole. I was so traumatized by the experience that I dreamed about it that night. I do that quite a bit: dream about my daytime embarrassments. At least most of them are just embarrassing dreams, not nightmares.

I leave the laundry pile for a second and the dog takes over. I hope she only has sweet dreams as she snoozes on our clean towels.

However a few weeks ago I did have a nightmare. I jolted awake and sat up in bed, still pretty scared even with my eyes open.

Me: Hubs? Hubs, you awake?

Hubs: Yeah, what’s wrong Princess?

Me: I had a nightmare.

Hubs: Oh no. I’m sorry.

Me: Yeah, it was really scary.

Hubs: It’s ok. Do you want to tell me about it?

Me: I guess. I mean, it was really scary, and I was walking along…

Hubs (sitting up all the sudden and interrupting me): Hon? Lay back down and go to sleep.

Me: Umm…ok…

So I rolled over and went back to sleep, a little perturbed that he had interrupted me just to tell me to go back to sleep. It was not very compassionate of him in my time of need, that’s for sure.

I asked him about the next day, and it turns out that the whole time he was “comforting” me, he was asleep. Completely and totally asleep. Did not remember talking to me at all. What he did remember was waking up and I was talking to him. So he thought that I was talking in my sleep so he told me to go back to bed.

My hubs, he can comfort me even while he is still asleep. He is such a dreamy husband, for sure.

Leave a Reply

